Hawkshead Community Pre School CIC, Main Street, Hawkshead, Cumbria, LA22 0NT

Call: 07376 781195

EYFS Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) covers the period from birth to five and the final year of the EYFS is the reception year of school. The EYFS has four themes around which the framework is based:

The Unique Child;

  • Positive Relationships;
  • Enabling Environments;
  • Learning and Development.

The EYFS states that effective learning is characterised by:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically

The EYFS is split in to 7 curriculum areas – prime and specific. The curriculum is planned to promote learning in 3 prime areas:

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development – involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups and different social situations; and to have confidence in their own abilities.
  • Communication & Language – involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.
  • Physical Development – involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control and gross and fine motor movements. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity and to make healthy choices in relation to food. There is also an element of self-care and independence.


The three prime areas are fundamental to children’s learning and development – in effect, opening the doors to learning in all the other areas of the curriculum:

  • Literacy – involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems and other written materials) to ignite their interest.
  • Mathematics – involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces and measures.
  • Understanding of the world – involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.
  • Expressive Arts and Design – involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and
  • encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

Click here to read the EYFS Curriculum


Our Pre School

Set in the village of Hawkshead, in the heart of the Lake District, Cumbria, Hawkshead Community Pre School is a Community Interest Company Pre School providing pre school hours and wrap around care children aged 2-11 years old. We are open from 8:00am until 5:15pm for 50 weeks of the year (closed over Christmas &… Continue Reading

Contact us

Hawkshead Community Pre School CIC
Main Street
LA22 0NT

Email: hawksheadpreschool@hotmail.co.uk

Tel: 07376 781195

Website Design by Sophie Bennett - www.kittyinpink.co.uk